Mountaineers ready for domestic league

30 Nov, 2018 - 00:11 0 Views
Mountaineers ready for  domestic league Shepherd Makunura

The ManicaPost

Sports Correspondent
MOUNTAINEERS are more than ready to defend their Logan Cup in the Zimbabwe 2018-19 premier domestic cricket season which gets underway tomorrow.

The Pro50 championship kicks-off with Eagles hosting Tuskers at Harare Sports Club, while Rhinos will be at home to Mountaineers at Kwekwe Sports Club.

The Mountain will then take on Mid West Rhinos on Monday in the Logan Cup.

Mountaineers appear to have a strong franchise squad for the 2018-2019 season, and should again be challengers for all three domestic trophies on offer.

Shepherd Makunura was reappointed Mountaineers coach following the on-going restructuring within the Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) set up.

ZC appointed members of the Chevrons technical staff to head the coaching department of the domestic franchises.

Stuart Matsikenyeri, who is the Chevron’s batting coach is, now in charge of Eagles while bowling coach Doug Tafadzwa Hondo takes charge of Tuskers.

ZC is yet to appoint a coach for Mid West Rhinos.

ZC was also reverting to the old franchise system with Manicaland, Masvingo and Mashonaland East provinces making up the new look Mountaineers outfit.

Harare Metropolitan and Mashonaland Central  formed the Eagles franchise. Bulawayo Metropolitan, Matabeleland North and Matabeleland South provinces have been combined to make up the Tuskers franchise.

Midlands and Mashonaland West have been reunited under the Rhinos banner.

Makunura has already set his sights to defend the title that he has won in the 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 seasons after retaining their full squad from last season.

“We are ready to defend Logan Cup. I am happy with the squad so far. The guys are ready to take on Mid West Rhinos tomorrow,” he said.

Mountain goats have absorbed William Mashinge, Tafadzwa Tsiga, Tinashe Muchawaya and Vincent Masekesa from Rising Stars which will not participate in the first class cricket competition.

Mountaineers Squad: Tino Mawoyo,Kevin Kasuza, Victor Nyauchi, Kudzi Sauramba,Donald Tiripano,Tendai Chatara,Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Timycen Maruma, Roy Kaia,Wellington Masakadza, Shingi Masakadza, Innocent Kaia, Natsai Mushangwe, Forster Mutizwa, John Masara, Clive Chitumba, Frank Mazvita, Tinashe Chimbambo,  William Mashinge, Tafadzwa Tsiga, Tinashe Muchawaya and Vincent Masekesa.

Share This:

Sponsored Links