Mountaineers’ Mugeri to wait a little longer

12 Nov, 2021 - 00:11 0 Views
Mountaineers’ Mugeri to wait a little longer Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano

The ManicaPost

MOUNTAINEERS’ Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano, who is still nursing a long-term injury, remains on the sidelines as the Zimbabwe squad takes on Bangladesh Women in three One Day International matches which commenced on Wednesday at Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo.

However, the rest of the squad has been given a clean bill of health for the ODIs.

Other matches will be played tomorrow (Saturday) and Monday.

Zimbabwe Women received a timely boost following the return of two key players ahead of the ODI series.

Veteran batter, Sharne Mayers, who had not featured for the national side since she inspired them to the 2019 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Africa Qualifier championship, is part of the squad of 16 picked for the three matches against Bangladesh Women.

Zimbabwe Women are also delighted to have all-rounder, Christabel Chatonzwa back in the team after she won her fitness race.

The series will also be the first time that Zimbabwe Women will play in-front of their fans in over two years.

Tickets are pegged at US$5 for a seat in the grandstand and US$2 for the rest of the ground.

Only 1 000 fans who are fully vaccinated against Covid-19 will be permitted to attend the matches.

They will be required to produce their vaccination cards and identification particulars when purchasing tickets and entering the venue.

Zimbabwe Women and Bangladesh Women are using the ODI series as part of their final preparations for the 2021 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier to be held in Harare from November 21 to December 5.

The 10-team global tournament will decide the remaining three participants for the 50-over 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand.

Apart from Zimbabwe and Bangladesh, the other teams participating in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2021 are West Indies, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Thailand and the United States of America.

Zimbabwe Women squad:

Mary-Anne Musonda (captain) Modester Mupachikwa, Chiedza Dhururu, Ashley Ndiraya, Josephine Nkomo, Precious Marange, Loryn Phiri, Esther Mbofana, Loreen Tshuma, Nomvelo Sibanda, Tasmeen Granger, Christabel Chatonzwa, Audrey Mazvishaya, Francesca Chipare, Sharne Mayers, Nyasha Gwanzura – ZC.

Share This:

Sponsored Links