Mountaineers’ Mugeri captains Zim’s squad

12 Dec, 2014 - 00:12 0 Views

The ManicaPost

Ngoni Dapira
MUTARE cricket franchise Mountaineers’ women’s cricket player, Chipo Mugeri, will captain the 14-member Zimbabwe women’s cricket squad taking part in the 2014 Pepsi International Cricket Council Africa Women’s Trophy in Boneni, South Africa.

The squad left today (Friday) for South Africa for the tournament that kicks off tomorrow running until Tuesday.

From a call-up of 21-players on Monday in camp, seven were trimmed on Wednesday to remain with the 14 travelling players, of which, Mugeri and another Mountaineers player, Pelagia Mujaji, are part of.

Mugeri will captain the side after an impressive performance last month in South Africa during the friendly six-game 20/20 series against Western Province teams.

Six-countries will compete in the Pepsi ICC tournament namely Kenya, Namibia, South Africa Invitational XI, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

The teams will play each other once in a round-robin format.

Zimbabwe Women’s Cricket manager, Caroline Nyamande, said there will be two logs in the tournament

“One with all the six participants which will be used to determine the winner of the tournament, and then the other minus the South Africa side, which will be to decide which country goes to the ICC Global qualifiers in Thailand in July next year,” said Nyamande.

She said the top four teams at the Thailand qualifiers will proceed to the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournament, which will be held in India in March 2016.

Zimbabwe is in the bid to qualify for the global Twenty20 showcase for the first time after finishing fifth in the 2013 global qualifiers in Ireland.

South Africa has already qualified for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournament.

Last year the Mountaineers duo were again part of the high-flying Zimbabwe women’s team that came out second after South Africa in the African Division qualifiers for the 2013 ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers.

The team’s 2013 ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers dream was — however — crushed in the group stages of the qualifiers in Bangladesh after being pitted in a tough group against South Africa, Sri Lanka, Netherlands and USA.

Zimbabwe Women’s Cricket squad

Chipo Mugeri (captain), Priviledge Charumbira, Christabel Chatonzwa, Sarah Dambanevana, Chiedza Dhururu, Tasmeen Granger, Precious Marange, Sharne Mayers, Audrey Mazvishaya, Esther Mbofana, Thandakwenkosi Mlilo, Pellagia Mujaji, Modester Mupachikwa, Anesu Mushangwe, Mary Anne Musonda, Nomatter Mutasa, Ashley Ndiraya, Josephine Nkomo, Nomvelo Sibanda, Ellen Tshuma and Loreen Tshuma.


Manager: Caroline Chamunorwa

Coach: Trevor Phiri

Physiotherapist: Chido Pfumojena.

Share This:

Sponsored Links