Manicaland’s Westside eyes NPL

14 Jun, 2024 - 00:06 0 Views
Manicaland’s Westside eyes NPL Westside Cricket Club


Ray Bande
Senior Reporter

MANICALAND’S representatives in the National Premier League (NPL) – Westside Cricket Club – will open their campaign against reigning champions, Takashinga Patriots 1 at Mutare Sports Club tomorrow (Saturday) as the fourth edition of the club competition gets underway.

Westside chairman, Square Square, said: “I am excited to announce that Westside Cricket Club is gearing up for a formidable campaign in the 2024 National Premier League. This marks the second time our team has qualified for this prestigious national tournament, a testament to our growth and determination. In the previous two years, we achieved commendable second and fifth place finishes, and this year we are aiming for the top spot.”

Harare Metropolitan side, Rangers are among the first-time participants in the tournament, together with Strikers from Mashonaland East, Rimuka from Mashonaland West and Knights from Masvingo.

With 14 teams vying for the coveted silverware, seven matches are lined up for MatchDay One.
Rangers will make their NPL bow against Amakhosi at Masvingo Sports Club, while Takashinga Patriots 2 will take on Bulawayo Athletic Club at Kwekwe Sports Club tomorrow (Saturday).


Gladiators will complete the day’s action against Mbizo at Old Hararians Sports Club.

On Sunday, Rimuka will mark their first ever appearance in the tournament when they host Rainbow at Kadoma Sports Club, while Strikers will make their debut against Queens Sports Club at Kwekwe Sports Club.

The other newcomers, Knights, will face Scorpions at Masvingo Sports Club.

The next matches are scheduled for June19 and 20 at venues across the country.

A total of 91 matches will be played in this NPL campaign, with the final round set for August 10 and 11.

Harare Metropolitan is represented by Takashinga Patriots 1, Takashinga Patriots 2, Gladiators and Rangers who secured their places in the tournament directly from the province’s own main league, while Rainbow qualified via the playoffs.

Bulawayo Metropolitan’s guaranteed berths were taken up by Amakhosi and Queens Sports Club, with Bulawayo Athletic Club joining them from the playoffs.

Manicaland, Masvingo and Midlands each had one spot, with Westside, Scorpions and Mbizo earning direct qualification from the two provinces, respectively.

Strikers, Knights and Rimuka complete the line-up after coming through the playoffs.


NPL campaign set to get underway.


Westside Cricket Club squad:

Vincent Masekesa (Captain); Spencer Magodo; Tendai Chatara; Kevin Kasuza; Kudzai Sauramba; Frank Mthetwa; Definate Mawadzi; Tinashe Muchawaya; Tinashe Chiorah; Fortune Mhlanga; Prosper Mugeri; Clive Chitumba; Nigel Bonyongwe; John Masara; Tariro Makauyo; Takudzwa Nyamugure; Clifford Mativenga; Anesu Kamuriwo; Trevor Mhuri; Hendricks Macheke; Mashford Shungu; Tendai Masunda; Crosby Mujaji.


Share This:

Sponsored Links